Victor Santamaria

From UO Motor Control and Cognition Lab

Jump to: navigation, search
VictorSantama.JPG

Contact Information

Phone: 541.346.4144
E-Mail: vsantama@uoregon.edu

CV

Publications

  1. Segmental trunk control acquisition and reaching in typically developing infants. Rachwani J, Santamaria V, Saavedra SL, Wood S, Porter F, Woollacott MH. Exp Brain Res. 2013 Jul;228(1):131-9. doi: 10.1007/s00221-013-3544-y. Epub 2013 May 17.

Biography

ACADEMIC BACKGROUND

I received my major in Physical Therapy in 2007. After that, I obtained my specialty in Pediatric Physical Therapy from the International University of Catalunya (UIC) and my Neuroscience Master degree from the University of Salamanca (USAL). Additionally, I obtained 60 graduate credits in Neurological Pathology from the University Rey Juan Carlos of Madrid (URJC). I also spent 4 years in the clinical context working with pediatric and adult patients with neurological disorders. I was delegate of the Spanish Society of Pediatric Physical Therapy (SEFIP) in Andalucia before coming to the United States. The aim of my research is motor control of reaching in healthy kids and children with Cerebral Palsy. I am also interested in how these parameters are interrelated with postural stability and what the underlying neural mechanisms are. After my PhD, I plan to continue investigating thoroughly motor control in brain injuries with the main target of evolving future neurological assessments and treatments. Additionally, I want to share and complement research with clinical practice in pediatric neuro-rehabilitation. Currently, I am participating as doctoral candidate in a NIH grant supervised by Dr. Woollacott and with the collaboration of Dr. Saavedra in the Motor Control and Cognition Lab, department of Human Physiology at the University of Oregon (UO).

PERSONAL STORY

I was born in Malaga (Spain) in January 16 in 1984. I have a great relationship with my family and friends. I am sociable, friendly and respectful. Also, I think that work-team is the best way to be successful not only in your job but in life as well. I like sports and especially martial arts. I am second level lack belt of Karate and I have been practicing it since I was 11 years old.

Personal tools